Officiate Iowa High School Athletic Events

Registration for officials begin on June 17, 2024 for the 2024-25 school year

IHSAA Officials

Stay involved with Iowa high school athletics by registering as an official! To qualify, registrants must be a high school student or older, have a thorough understanding of the sport you wish to officiate, and the ability to interpret and apply rules.

Stop HT Iowa

Officials Guidelines & Information

Policies, Rules, Requirements



Notable Policies

  • Officials are considered independent contractors.
  • Officials from out-of-state must obtain a valid IHSAA license to officiate within Iowa.
  • All licenses expire annually after the state baseball tournament and must be renewed within one year of expiration.
  • High school students are eligible to obtain a license and officiate sub-varsity and junior high contests.
  • Armed Forces personnel will have licensing fees waived for their first two years of officiating (form below).
  • High school and college students receive a discounted rate for licensing fees.

Official Exams and Rules Meeting Requirements

  • All officials must score 75 percent or higher on an online open-book exam in the sport(s) for which they intend to officiate. Exams may be retaken twice if necessary.
  • All officials are required to view an online rules interpretation meeting pertaining to their sport(s) before the season begins.
  • To become varsity eligible, new officials of football, basketball, baseball, and wrestling must attend a clinic within the first three years of registration.
  • Exams and rules meetings may be found through DragonFly (ICOS).

Officials Associations & Assignors

Algona Officials AssociationFred PerkinsEmmetsburg[email protected](712) 490-4061
Black Hawk Officials AssociationRobert Smith Jr.Waterloo[email protected](319) 230-7917
Cedar Rapids Athletic Officials AssociationChris HeidelbauerMarion[email protected](319) 533-0292
Cedar Valley Soccer Officials AssociationPhil WatsonCedar Falls[email protected](319) 230-9148
Central Iowa Wrestling Officials AssociationJesse McCradyAnkeny[email protected](641) 780-4618
Clarinda Officials OrganizationKeith BrothersClarinda[email protected](712) 303-0025
Des Moines Officials AssociationLarry JacobusDes Moines[email protected](515) 490-0779
Dubuque Area Soccer Officials AssociationPaul LassanceDubuque[email protected](563) 590-0487
East Central Iowa Soccer Officials Assoc.Brian D. CohenRobins[email protected](319) 294-8863
Eastern Iowa Wrestling Officials Assoc.Chris MeineckeMaquoketa[email protected](319) 480-3377
Fort Dodge Officials AssociationJim BiceFort Dodge[email protected](515) 571-3191
Greater Des Moines Umpires AssociationGeorge DavisDes Moines[email protected](515) 979-9291
Grundy County Officials AssociationCharles McCauleyReinbeck[email protected](832) 434-8996
I.O.W.A (Iowa Officials Western Assoc.)Chris GirresCouncil Bluffs[email protected](402) 657-2905
Iowa City Athletic Officials AssociationJohn MathiasIowa City[email protected](319) 430-5100
Mahaska County Wrestling Officials AssociationLanny BrandAltoona[email protected](515) 975-9602
North Iowa Area Soccer Officials AssociationCharlie RamsayMason City[email protected](641) 420-8345
North Iowa Officials AssociationKen RobbinsMason City[email protected]515-571-2390
Northwest IA Wrestling Coaches & Officials AssocMike WinklepleckSioux City[email protected](712) 870-4682
Premier Sports Officials AssociationSean JohnstonBennington[email protected](402) 319-8413
Quad City Officials AssociationJon ClarkMoline[email protected](309) 945-8119
Red Rock Officials AssociationCraig Van VarkPella[email protected](641) 628-9179
Saylorville Officials Association-BASKETBALLDan BrunsAnkeny[email protected](515) 724-4278
Saylorville Officials Association-FOOTBALLBill PrangeAnkeny[email protected](515) 210-4167
Siouxland Officials AssociationKevin EekhoffLeMars[email protected](712) 548-2722
Siouxland SOCCER Officials Association (SSOA)Patrick WiltgenSouth Sioux City[email protected](402) 987-7719
Siouxland Umpires AssociationGrant ThompsonSioux City[email protected](712) 301-3905
Southeast Iowa Soccer Officials Association Daniel LopezTiffin[email protected]563-506-3263
Southeast Iowa Officials AssociationJoshua RagarWest Point[email protected](309) 371-5020
Tri-State Officials AssociationAl StoltzDubuque[email protected](563) 451-8352
Twin Lakes Area Officials AssociationFred PerkinsEmmetsburg[email protected](712) 490-4061
Wapello County Officials AssociationBill OwensOttumwa[email protected](641) 814-2271
Waterloo Area Officials Association (WAOA)Terrance Campbell (TC)Cedar Falls[email protected](319) 504-2940
Webster City Officials AssociationChris HansenWebster City[email protected](515) 851-1973

Resources for Iowa High School Sports Officials

IHSAA Officials Hall of Fame



Greg Becker


Mike Botts


Brian Gray


Jenni Malsam

Sioux City

Jim Pfeifer


Dave Rittman