Iowa High School State Basketball Tournament


The 2020 Iowa high school boys state basketball tournament will take place from March 9-13 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. Check back for more updates throughout the postseason.

2020 State Basketball schedule

Monday, March 9

Class 1A Quarterfinals 

Montezuma 75, Martensdale-St. Marys 50 | BOX SCORE

Wapsie Valley, Fairbank 49, Lake Mills 45 | BOX SCORE

Bishop Garrigan, Algona 55, Springville 52 | BOX SCORE

West Fork, Sheffield 55, St. Mary’s, Remsen 53 | BOX SCORE

Class 2A Quarterfinals

North Linn, Troy Mills 56, West Sioux, Hawarden 51 | BOX SCORE

Treynor 69, Pella Christian 53 | BOX SCORE

Boyden-Hull 57, Woodward-Granger 26 | BOX SCORE

Tuesday, March 10

Class 2A Quarterfinal

Camanche 67, Monticello 52 | BOX SCORE

Class 3A Quarterfinals

Norwalk 72, Harlan 37 | BOX SCORE

Ballard 54, Center Point-Urbana 48 | BOX SCORE

Clear Creek-Amana 59, Mount Vernon 45 | BOX SCORE

Sergeant Bluff-Luton 58, Pella 43 | BOX SCORE

Class 4A Quarterfinals

Waukee 58, North Scott, Eldridge 50 | BOX SCORE

Ankeny Centennial 53, Davenport, North 51 | BOX SCORE

Wednesday, March 11

Class 4A Quarterfinals

Ankeny 68, Iowa City, West 54 | BOX SCORE

Cedar Falls 64, Dowling Catholic, W.D.M. 62 | BOX SCORE

Class 1A Semifinals

Wapsie Valley, Fairbank 57, Montezuma 42 | BOX SCORE

Bishop Garrigan, Algona 66, West Fork, Sheffield 52 | BOX SCORE

Class 2A Semifinals

Boyden-Hull 64, Camanche 49 | BOX SCORE

North Linn, Troy Mills 79, Treynor 58 | BOX SCORE

Thursday, March 12

Class 1A Consolation

Montezuma 78, West Fork, Sheffield 72 | BOX SCORE

Class 2A Consolation

Camanche 77, Treynor 66 | BOX SCORE

Class 3A Semifinals

Norwalk 79, Ballard 61 | BOX SCORE

Sergeant Bluff-Luton 55, Clear Creek-Amana 46 | BOX SCORE

Class 4A Semifinals

Waukee 68, Ankeny Centennial 62 | BOX SCORE

Ankeny 71, Cedar Falls 57 | BOX SCORE

Friday, March 13

Class 3A Consolation

Clear Creek-Amana 76, Ballard 73 (OT) | BOX SCORE

Class 4A Consolation

Cedar Falls 65, Ankeny Centennial 58 | BOX SCORE

Class 1A Championship

Wapsie Valley, Fairbank 65, Bishop Garrigan, Algona 53 | BOX SCORE

Class 2A Championship

Boyden-Hull 64, North Linn, Troy Mills 51 | BOX SCORE

Class 3A Championship

Norwalk 70, Sergeant Bluff-Luton 68 | BOX SCORE

Class 4A Championship

Ankeny 78, Waukee 70 | BOX SCORE


Class 4A  |  Class 3A  |  Class 2A  |  Class 1A



Presented by Iowa Farm Bureau


Class 4A
  • Tucker DeVries, Waukee
  • Landon Wolf, Cedar Falls
  • Cody McCullough, Ankeny Centennial
  • Payton Sandfort, Waukee
  • Braxton Bayless, Ankeny (captain)
Class 3A
  • Tyler Johnson, Norwalk
  • Tyler Schrepfer, Clear Creek-Amana
  • Connor Drew, Ballard
  • Daniel Wright, Sergeant Bluff-Luton
  • Bowen Born, Norwalk (captain)
Class 2A
  • Keyton Moser, Boyden-Hull
  • Austin Hilmer, North Linn
  • Marcus Kelderman, Boyden-Hull
  • Tanner Te Slaa, Boyden-Hull
  • Austin Miller, North Linn (captain)
Class 1A
  • Angelo Winkel, Bishop Garrigan (captain)
  • Kiks Rosengarten, Wapsie Valley
  • Trey Shearer, Montezuma
  • John Joyce, Bishop Garrigan
  • Gunner Meyer, Wapsie Valley


From the Iowa High School Sports Network. Check your local listings for more viewing opportunities.

State Tournament Spectator Information


Tickets to 2020 State Basketball are $10 and can be purchased at online through Iowa Events Center, or at Wells Fargo Arena.

Tickets are good for one full day. Check with event staff for re-entry.

Parking is available at Wells Fargo Arena and around downtown Des Moines, with skywalk access to the arena.

Programs featuring team information and statistics will be for sale at Wells Fargo Arena for $5. 


Postseason Basketball Information

Eight teams qualify for the state tournament from each of four classifications. Seeding for state tournament brackets is assigned through a vote of qualifying coaches.

Brackets and scores from preceding rounds can be found through the links below. Rules and policies for the postseason can be found through the manual. Tournament history and records can be viewed in the Stat Book.

District & Substate Brackets

Postseason Schedules & Scores

2020 Postseason Manual

2020 Stat Book


order PHOTOS

Media Information

School media representatives may include one adult or up to two students per qualifying school. Representatives must bring an attendance letter from an administrator and daily ticket to media entrance for a credential. No pre-registration is required.


2020 State Basketball Media Information

Media Policy Manual

Apply for State Basketball Media Credentials

This form is closed

*For radio coverage rights, go to the Iowa High School Sports Network.


The IHSAA credentials approved media outlets, per the Media Policy Manual. Independent photographers or individuals will not be approved. Freelance journalists must have assigning editors from approved outlets apply on their behalf.

Outlets producing radio or audio from the event should not apply through this form. IHSSN holds rights and registration for radio/audio outlets through

The IHSAA kindly requests approved media outlets planning on attending should use this form, even if they already possess the teal 2019-20 tournament credential.

IHSSN holds video rights for select IHSAA state tournament events, including basketball. Media members from newspaper and television outlets must follow IHSSN policies re: game video. Media members from internet-based outlets must contact IHSSN if planning to shoot or publish any game video. Please contact


Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls


North Linn
North Linn

Grand View Christian
Des Moines

 Visit quikstatsiowa for updated iowa high school basketball statistics