The Iowa High School Athletic Association will begin developing and releasing rankings for all seven classifications starting in the 2023 season, utilizing pre-existing Ratings Percentage Index for larger-school classes (5A, 4A, 3A) and new rankings committees for smaller-school classes (2A, 1A, A, 8P).

The rankings will begin after Week 5 games and publish weekly through the end of the regular season late October. In recent seasons, the IHSAA has released RPI for 5A, 4A, and 3A, and district standings for 2A, 1A, A, and 8P.

Classes 2A, 1A, A, and Eight-Player will now each feature a rankings committee made up of six individuals: Two former head coaches and one media member, each representing different state regions, and three IHSAA staff members. Like the IHSAA’s 2022-23 basketball format, committees will create a consensus-based top 10 ranking with the intention of improving the IHSAA’s postseason assignment and seeding process.

Classes 5A, 4A, and 3A has used RPI since 2018 and the formula will continue to be used for postseason qualification and seeding. 

“We’re excited to bring rankings with dedicated and experienced committee members to Iowa high school football this fall,” IHSAA assistant director and football administrator Jared Chizek said. “We are always focused on improving our postseason processes and we think official rankings can play a big role in promoting our schools and student-athletes, too.”

The IHSAA will use the rankings as a primary tool for postseason assignments, while maintaining school and geographic considerations. Previously used postseason hosting and district finish criteria are unchanged for 2023. 

Committee members are listed below by classification.


Tentative release dates for 2023 football rankings:
  • First edition: September 25, after Week 5
  • Second edition: October 2, after Week 6
  • Third edition: October 9, after Week 7
  • Final edition: October 16, after Week 8 and first round postseason assignments




IHSAA Staff: Jared Chizek, Chris Cuellar, Todd Tharp

Class 2A
  • Kevin Bowman
  • Dewayne Cook
  • Toby Lorenzen
Class 1A
  • Cory Brandt
  • Ryan Murken
  • Greg Thomas
Class A
  • Jeff Linder
  • Darrell Schumacher
  • Delwyn Showalter
  • Don Anderson
  • Dave Capitani
  • Trevor Maeder