Foreign Exchange Student Participation

For information on foreign exchange student eligibility, please view the IHSAA Handbook. 

Below is a mandatory form and list of approved applicants for foreign exchange student participation in IHSAA activities. Notification forms below are to be submitted on behalf of each male student who wishes to participate in an interscholastic athletic activity. Forms for female students should be sent to the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union. 



Notification of Foreign Exchange Student Participation

In Athletic Events Sanctioned by IHSAA


Completion of this digital form serves as notification that the following foreign exchange student desires to participate in interscholastic athletic contests and competitions on behalf of the school named below.

Iowa Code section 256.46 was amended, effective July 1, 2006, to state that foreign exchange students (those with J-1 visas) shall have immediate eligibility to participate “unless undue influence was exerted to place the child for primarily athletic purposes.”

In accordance with this change, the IGHSAU and IHSAA, in collaboration with the Iowa Department of Education, have developed this form for high school to use to report their foreign exchange students who desire to participate in an athletic contest of competition sanctioned by the Union or Association. As with all secondary students, foreign exchange students must also be under 20 years of age, not have completed eight consecutive semesters of high school following the entry of the ninth grade or its equivalent for the first time, possess an appropriate physical examination report, and be eligible under the scholastic rule.

NOTE: Failure to submit this form before competition starts for the student’s first sport shall result ineligibility of the student.



Name of submitting member school.
Name of applying foreign exchange student.
Date of Birth(Required)
Type of Student Visa(Required)
Students on F1 visas are not considered foreign exchange students and are subject to the general transfer rule.
Sports for Participation(Required)
Please select all that may apply.
Please describe any communication with or about the student regarding athletic participation in Iowa prior to arrival by any school officials, students, parents of students, or host family members.
Name of Administrator(Required)
Name of submitting member school administrator.
Email address of submitting member school administrator.




2021-22 Approved Applicants

Student Name High School
Herman Holt Hodne Clarion-Goldfield
Janosch Rosuer Clarion-Goldfield
Darya Kantorbayeva Panorama
Frederik Joergensen Panorama
Bjorn Kaasquard Sunesen Benton Community
Anton Uffhausen Panorama
Miguel Moran Bobadilla Des Moines North High
Rune Nielsen Des Moines North High
Jannis Hartell Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn
Edoardo Giannini Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn
Kostiantyn Tsymbal Johnston
Teofil Aleksander Semeniuk North Polk
Adrian Bartra Mormon Trail Community School
Diego Tomm Mormon Trail Community School
Camilo Blanco Faraco Northeast, Goose Lake
Mario Castillo Okoboji
Mato Cabraja Pella
Christopher Brandt Pella
Paul Schlacter Shenandoah
Edgar Cuevas Solon
Lennart Blank South Tama County
Jens Thygesen Springville
Mohamed Ben Lassaued Union Community
Bachana Ugrekhelidze Union Community
Ismat Abdurahimov Washington
Ference Mudra Clear Creek Amana
Giji van der Vegt Clear Creek Amana
Olzhas Koishybek Dubuque Senior
Pablo Penas Villen Dubuque Senior
David Vraj Fort Dodge
Nicolas Shatleh Fort Dodge
Pablo Pascual Alfaro St. Mary’s Storm Lake
Samjhana Zapata Kuemper
Giulia Kuemper
Ibrahim Cara Hampton-Dumont
Alessandro Ercoli Emmetsburg
Simon Andersson AGWSR
Lasse Segebrecht AGWSR
Fernando Diaz Woodbury Central
Antonin Jachimowski Cedar Rapids Washington
Mauritz Malchin Red Oak
Riccardo Rezia Loppio Marquette Catholic
Daniel Vlas Thomas Jefferson
Mika Lensker Marquette Catholic
Filipe Guedes Fort Dodge
Chingis Zhomartov Ankeny Centennial
Auturo Reyes Vera Martinez South O’Brien
Alja Eremic WACO
Oleh Shtefanchuk WACO
Alexander Maximilian Stridde MMCRU
Erdem Tastepe Bondurant-Farrar
Diego Camarena Bellevue
Shakhzod Shodiev Woodward-Granger CSD
Max Konings Sibley-Ocheyedan
Thomas Papadopoulos ADM
Tolga Sevimli Harlan
Kristian Upmalis IKM-Manning
Ayshan Mammadova Fort Madison
Bahaa Aldeen Al Jnada Colo-Nesco
German Llorente Sioux City North
Krisztian Kohalmi West Central Valley
Bahaa Aldeen Al Jnada Colo-NESCO
Fritz Lange Bellevue
Edoardo Girombelli West Bend-Mallard
Filipa Bobber Panorama
Frederico Kautzmann Mason City
Fatima Pitiko Davenport North
Blanca Martin-Rubio Davenport North
Finn Skrybeck Harlan Community