District and substate assignments for all four classifications are now available for the 2020 baseball postseason.

Postseason competition begins with preliminary round games in Class 1A on Thursday, July 9. First round games are set for Saturday, July 11. Eight teams from each class advance to the 2020 state tournament, starting July 24 at Principal Park in Des Moines.

Pairings for Class 2A and Class 1A will be available the week of June 29 following coaches’ seeding meetings. For bracket purposes, the winners of District 1 and District 2 will play in Substate 1, the winners of District 3 and District 4 will play in Substate 2, and so on.

Pairings for Class 4A and Class 3A will be available the week of July 6 following coaches’ seeding meetings.



Substates: 4A, 3A | Districts: 2A, 1A

More information on postseason policies and procedures are available through the Postseason Manual and updates for 2020 in the Postseason Addendum.

Tickets are $6 for district games and $8 for substate finals.


Stop HT Iowa