Board & Rep. Council

Board of Control

Chairperson: Greg Darling, Humboldt, 2021

Vice-Chairperson: Dr. Rod Earleywine, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, 2020

Treasurer: Barb Schwamman, Osage, 2022

Greg Dockum, Johnston, IASB, 2021

Brent Cook, Dubuque, Senior, 2022

Paula Wright, Oskaloosa, 2019

Scott Kibby, Iowa City, Liberty, 2023

Dave Wiebers, Denison-Schleswig, 2023

Dr. Ryan Wise, ex-officio, Department of Education


Eight voting members and one non-voting member comprise the Board of Control. The Board has general supervision over all athletic contests of Association schools and interprets Association rules. All five IHSAA Representative Council districts in the state are represented on the Board.

Dr. Ryan Wise is a representative of the State Department of Education, a non-voting member. Greg Dockum is a voting representative from the Iowa Association of School Boards and is appointed by that group. The remaining seven members are elected by IHSAA member schools.


Representative Council

Central District

Class A

Scott Dryer, principal, South Hamilton, Jewell

Maury Ruble, principal, Ogden

Darrin Strike, superintendent, West Fork, Sheffield

Deron Durflinger, superintendent, Van Meter

Class AA

Steve Pettit, principal, Southeast Polk

Northeast District

Class A

Mike Crozier, superintendent, Northwood-Kensett

Dale Crozier, superintendent, MFL, MarMac

Lynn Baldus, principal, Saint Ansgar

Doug Gee, superintendent, Clear Lake

Class AA

Jeff Gustason, principal, Linn-Mar, Marion

Northwest District

Class A

Kevin Wood, principal, Manson Northwest Webster

Steve Grond, superintendent, Boyden-Hull

Ryan Kramer, superintendent, West Sioux, Hawarden

Lynn Evans, superintendent, Alta-Aurelia

Class AA

Steve Webner, superintendent, LeMars

Southeast District

Class A

Tom Parker, superintendent, Camanche

Kevin Crall, superintendent, Albia

George Pickup, principal, Central DeWitt

Ken Crawford, superintendent, Highland, Riverside

Class AA

Joe Stutting, superintendent, North Scott, Eldridge

Southwest District

Class A

Casey Berlau, superintendent, Carroll

Mike Still, principal, Lenox

Bill Huntington, principal, Mount Ayr

Tom Wood, superintendent, Martensdale-St. Marys

Class AA

Chris Basinger, principal, Norwalk


The 25-member Representative Council formulates the aims and policies of the Association each year and has the power to initiate amendments and new rules for the Executive Director to submit to the electorate. Council members are elected by IHSAA member schools and are chosen by district and according to school classification. Each of the five districts has five council members, with four of the five representing Class “A” schools, and one representing Class “AA” schools in that district.


2019-20 Advisory Committees

2019-20 IHSAA District Map